Bring me a Dream!

So, the last film I watched during the month of January was Darren Aronofsky’s Requiem for a Dream.

Set in Brooklyn the film charts four seasons in the lives of four characters; Sara Goldfarb, her son Harry (played by Jared Leto), his girlfriend Marion (Jennifer Connelly) and Harry’s friend Tyrone (Marlon Wayans). The film deals with each characters’ addictions to drugs which takeover and destroy their lives in different ways.

The film could be described as a long “Drugs are bad” commercial filmed in an artsy, perhaps even pretentious, style. Though it would be harsh on the film to do so. Each of the cast are great in their roles and their stories are moving and often depressing.

I really liked the way the film was edited together and the soundtrack is amazing. The plot is stomach-punchingly raw and bleak. I mean, I didn’t cry or anything. But once the end credits started rolling I found myself just sitting there feeling a little bit shocked and very much depressed.

Some people claim it’s all style and no substance and it wouldn’t get the praise it receives if it was filmed in a more traditional sense. I’m not sure about that. I’m not sure if you can say it’s an enjoyable film given the subject matter and how it pans out, but it’s one of the best and most devastating films I’ve ever seen and I rate it very highly.

9.5/10

(Highest rated film I watched during January)

This entry was posted in Drama, Film. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bring me a Dream!

  1. bumpoo says:

    Jennifer Connelly’s boobs in that picture though…..nice

Leave a Reply

